Bellator Adds Kenny Foster & Zac George to Featherweight Tournament

(George, Foster L-R)

Earlier this week, Bellator announced the addition of two more participants in its upcoming season four Featherweight Tournament. The Chicago-based, tournament-format promotion added two unranked fighters, Kenny “The Tooth Fairy” Foster and Zac “The Red Devil” George, as the second and third fighters competing for a $100,000 check and a subsequent title shot versus current Bellator World Featherweight Champion Joe Warren (#2 Featherweight).

Other than one Bellator win, Foster doesn’t register a blip on the national radar, but Bellator Chairman and CEO Bjorn Rebney sees potential in the two-time Georgia high school champion and former Division II All-American wrestler. “Kenny’s a well rounded fighter who has the skills and tools to do very well in this tournament and potentially shock people,” Rebney was quoted in the press release. George on the other hand, stepped onto the national stage before but didn’t fare well.

The Oklahoma native wrestled in high school and picked up boxing and kickboxing while in college, recording 35-2 overall record in ammy boxing, kickboxing, and pro kickboxing matches. George moved on to MMA, notching a pro record of 20-3, but two of those losses came in a three-fight stint with the IFL. But to his credit, George has been on a tear since 1998, winning his last six fights on regional cards. George had this to say about his competition in the upcoming tournament; “They’re hungry guys looking for their shot and they all want to go out there to beat some people up and make some money. I’m really excited about it.”

Foster and George join Eric Larkin as the only confirmed participants in the upcoming season four Featherweight Tournament.

Bellator previously announced its upcoming Welterweight Tournament, which features Jay Hieron (#19 Welterweight), Steve Carl (#43), “Judo” Jimmy Wallhead, former Bellator Welterweight Champion Lyman Good (#38), Dan Hornbuckle (#57), Brent Weedman (#84), Chris Lozano, and former Olympic judoka Rick Hawn as they compete for $100,000 and a shot at Askren. Both Lozano and Hawn will enter our rankings after their first tournament fight.

The promotion’s inaugural Light-Heavyweight Tournament is the other officially-announced component of Bellator’s upcoming fourth season, which will air on MTV2. In the coming weeks, Bellator will announce the rest of its season four tournament participants. To date, the other announced fighters for season four are Joe Riggs, Daniel Gracie and Ron Sparks.

The promotion currently boasts champions in all men’s divisions but Flyweight and Light Heavyweight. Those champions are Zach Makovsky (#11 Bantamweight), Joe Warren (#2 Featherweight), Eddie Alvarez (#11 Lightweight), Ben Askren (#16 Welterweight), Hector Lombard (#6 Middleweight), Cole Konrad (#24 Heavyweight), and Zoila Frausto, who will likely be at the top of the heap when FIGHT! unveils its Women’s Flyweight Rankings.

Comments are closed.