Former Champ and #38 Welterweight Lyman Good Official for Bellator's Next Tourney

(Good finishes Omar De La Cruz to win the first Bellator Welterweight Tournament.)

Lyman Good (#38 Welterweight) went on a roll in 2009, winning three fights to capture the inaugural Bellator Welterweight Championship at Bellator 11. Then he sustained a serious shoulder injury and was laid off for 16 months until his season three title defense against season two tournament champion Ben Askren (#16) at Bellator 33. The challenger used his “Funky” wrestling to notch a unanimous decision victory over Good and become the new Bellator Welterweight Champion. According to a Bellator press release issued today, Good will start down the road to possible redemption this spring as an entrant in the season four welterweight tournament.

“Being able to fight [Ben] Askren again was one of the biggest factors behind me entering this tournament. I can’t walk away from an opportunity to avenge a loss to a person that I know deep down – with the proper amount of preparation – I can beat,” Good was quoted in the press release.

Good will join Dan Hornbuckle (#57 Welterweight), Brent Weedman (#84), Chris Lozano, and former Olympic judoka Rick Hawn as they compete for $100,000 and a shot at Askren. Both Lozano and Hawn will enter our rankings after their first tournament fight.

The promotion’s inaugural Light-Heavyweight Tournament is the only other officially-announced component of Bellator’s upcoming fourth season, which will air on MTV2. In the coming weeks, Bellator will announce its season four tournament participants. To date, the other announced fighters for season four are Joe Riggs, Daniel Gracie and Ron Sparks.

The promotion currently boasts champions in all men’s divisions but Flyweight and Light Heavyweight. Those champions are Zach Makovsky (#11 Bantamweight), Joe Warren (#2 Featherweight), Eddie Alvarez (#11 Lightweight), Ben Askren (#16 Welterweight), Hector Lombard (#6 Middleweight), Cole Konrad (#24 Heavyweight), and Zoila Frausto, who will likely be at the top of the heap when FIGHT! unveils its Women’s Flyweight Rankings.

Comments are closed.