Bellator Beefs Up At 205 and 145

This week Bellator announced the two more additions to its inaugural Light Heavyweight Tournament, Tim Carpenter and Richard Hale.

“When I started looking at Bellator and I saw the list of champions and tournament winners, it’s really impressive,” Carpenter was quoted in a press release. “You have guys that are at the top of the sport fighting for Bellator, and it’s exciting to get the chance to compete in a tournament like this. Once you hit that championship level at Bellator, you’re in there with guys like Eddie Alvarez, Hector Lombard, Ben Askren, Cole Konrad and Zack Makovsky. It would be an honor to be mentioned in the same sentence with those guys.”

Richard Hale won Rage in the Cage Championship belts in three weight classes (Light Heavyweight, Heavyweight, and Super Heavyweight) but he’s focusing on just one this spring. “I’m looking at [the Bellator Light Heavyweight Tournament] as an opportunity to display my skills to the world,” Hale was quoted in a press release. “I feel like this is my opportunity to make a statement and I’m absolutely going to take advantage of it. I’m not coming to Bellator just to put on a fight; I’m coming to put on an entertaining fight.”

Carpenter and Hale join Nik Fekete, Chris Davis, D.J. Linderman and Daniel Gracie as confirmed participants in Bellator’s inaugural Light Heavyweight Tournament. The fighters will compete for $100,000 in total pay and the right to be crowned the first Bellator Light Heavyweight Champion.

Bellator Season 4 kicks off live on MTV2 at on Sat., March 5, 2011 at 9 p.m. EST from Tachi Palace Resort & Casino in Lemoore, Calif. A Spanish-language version of each card will be broadcast the day after the live event on MTV2’s sister channel Tr3s.

The Season Four Featherweight Tournament kicks of at Bellator 37 and the tournament winner will take home $100,000 in total pay and earn a shot at Bellator Featherweight Champion Joe Warren (#2)

Michael Chandler, Lloyd Woodard, Patricky Freire, Ferrid Kheder, Marcin Held, Toby Imada (#52 Lightweight), “Razor” Rob McCullough (#70 Lightweight) and Carey Vanier (#95) will compete in Bellator’s Season 4 Lightweight Tournament. The tournament winner will take home $100,000 and the right to challenge Bellator Lightweight Champion Eddie Alvarez (#11 Lightweight) for the title.

The Season Four Welterweight Tournament kicks off at Bellator 35 as eight fighters compete for $100,000 in total pay and a shot at Bellator Welterweight Champion Ben Askren (#15).

Bellator has also signed a slew of noteworthy fighters for yet-to-be booked season four fights, including Joe Riggs (#88 Middleweight), Ben Saunders (#58 Welterweight), Marlon Sandro (#16 Featherweight), Ronnie Mann (#60 Featherweight) and Ron Sparks.

The promotion currently boasts champions in all men’s divisions but Flyweight and Light Heavyweight. Those champions are Zach Makovsky (#11 Bantamweight), Joe Warren (#2 Featherweight), Eddie Alvarez (#11 Lightweight), Ben Askren (#15 Welterweight), Hector Lombard (#7 Middleweight), Cole Konrad (#25 Heavyweight), and Zoila Frausto (#2 Women’s Flyweight).

Comments are closed.